top of page

"Novak Djokovic" set a record for holding the world number 1 throne for as many weeks as Graf

Updated: Sep 29, 2023

Novak Djokovic
Novak Djokovic l Players with the most ATP Tour titles (Open Era) l Photo by AP

Novak Djokovic, creating a record for holding the world's No. 1 tennis throne for as many as 377 weeks, equal to the record of German female striker Steffi Graf.

Djokovic returned to the world No 1 throne for the first time in six months after winning the Australian Open in January. Matched Graf's record after starting this week as world No 1 with 7,070 points, 590 ahead of second seed Carlos Alcaraz of Spain.

Nole, who became world No 1 for the first time in 2011, held the record for 122 consecutive weeks as world No 1 between July 2014 and November. 2016, second only to Roger Federer, who holds the world No. 1 record for the longest time of 237 weeks,

Biography and works of Novak Djokovic (Novak Djokovic)

  • Winner of all 17 Grand Slam men's singles tennis titles, consisting of

  • 8 Australian Open titles: 2008, 2011, 2012 and 2013, 2015, 2016 and 2019, and most recently in 2020

  • 5 Wimbledon titles: 2011, 2014, 2015, 2018 and 2019

  • Three US Open titles in 2011, 2015, and 2018; and French Open in 2016

With Djokovic winning three Grand Slam titles in 2011, he became the sixth male tennis player in the Open Era to achieve that. Won 3 Grand Slam tennis tournaments within the same year And after winning the French Open in 2016, making him one of the tennis players who have won all four Grand Slam titles in his career.

Interesting world record of Novak Djokovic

  • He is the first Serbian tennis player to win a Grand Slam title. Become the youngest player in the Open Era to reach the semi-finals of all four Grand Slam tournaments (both in four consecutive and non-consecutive tournaments)

  • First and only tennis player in the Open era to win three consecutive Australian Open titles (2011-2013).

  • He played against Rafael Nadal in the 2012 Australian Open final, which became the Grand Slam men's singles final. The longest race in history (5 hours 53 minutes)

  • Record 31 consecutive wins at the ATP World Tour Masters 1000

  • Reaching finals in all nine ATP World Tour Masters 1000 tournaments (equivalent to Roger Federer) and winning seven (equivalent to Andre Agassi and Roger Federer)


By Updated Jun 10, 2023 09.27 am TH

10 views0 comments


bottom of page